Kenny Broberg

Sunday, November 4, 2018 · 4:00PM

Program included: Franck, Medtner, Hamelin, Debussy, Gershwin

Born and raised in Minneapolis, pianist Kenny Broberg won the silver medal at the 2017 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition with performances marked by “an imaginative shaping of themes, revelation of inner voices, and an unfailing sense of momentum” (Texas Classical Review). He continues to build a reputation for fresh interpretations, distinguished by a “bright, pearly tone quality” and “a clean, pellucid beauty” in his sound (Star Tribune).


Prélude, Fugue et Variation, op. 18 - César Franck, transcribed by H. Bauer

Sonata in E Minor, op. 25/2 “Night Wind” - Nikolay Medtner

Toccata on “L’homme armé” - Marc-André Hamelin

Children’s Corner - Claude Debussy

Three Preludes - George Gershwin

Allegro ben ritmato e deciso (B flat major)

Andante con moto (C sharp minor)

[Agitato] (E flat minor)